Serie A

Serie A is the top soccer league in Italy and it consists of 20 clubs. The league was established in 1929, but from 1898 to 1922 the competition was organized into regional groups. The clubs in the league play 40 matches every season facing every other club twice with one match at home and one on the road. The Serie A season runs from August until May.

Juventus has been the dominant club in the league with 30 titles and the winner of the Serie A is referred to as the Scudetto. They are also the only club in the world that has won all official continental competitions as well as the world title.

At the end of the Serie A season the clubs that finish in the bottom three of the league table are relegated to Serie B. The top three finishers in Serie B are promoted to Serie A.

The top two finishers in the Serie A table qualify for the Champions League group stage and the third place finisher goes to the Champions League playoffs for the group stage. The clubs that finish fourth and fifth in the league table qualify for the Europa League.

There is a third spot in the Europa League for the winner of the Coppa Italia, but if the winner of that competition has already qualified for the Champions or Europa League the loser of the Coppa Italia final gets that spot. If both finalists in the Coppa Italia are in the top five in the league table the sixth place finisher qualifies for the Europa League.